Some people think that international car-free days are an effective way to reduce air pollution, others think there are other ways. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In recent years, car-free days have been known as one of the most impressive measure to limit the low-quality air statue. Although this method has been receiving great puplic support , various other ways should be considered too.

Several reasons could explain why international car-free days is favoured by a great number of citizens. First, it is obvious that car exhaust is the chief cause contributing to air pollution. Therefore by banning cars for some particular days, residents would have the tendency of using other means of transportation such as bicycles, trains,.. which reduces the high proportion of pollutants like CO2 significantly. Another effect of international car-free days is heightening citizens’ awareness of the benefits of eco-friendly vehicles. This means that finding different means of transportations which substitutes for cars is able to make residents realize that car is not as essential as they expected.

However, in order to decrease the low quality air status nowadays, both government and individuals should apply a wide range of viable measures. Firstly, many people would forget that improper waste managerment process such as burning landfill could be a more dramatic way deteriorating air quality. So adopting strict laws to enforce safer waste disposal is essential. Another measure could be taken to encourage citizens to take more actions to increase the amount of carbon dioxin taken out of the air. For example, planting more trees, bamboo, other plants are able to raise the number of carbon sinks in the world.

In conclusion, although it is clear the international car-free days are extreme success method, governments should adopt more feasible solutions to address this problem.