Some people think that it is beneficial for children to do paid work, while others think that it can be harmful for children.

Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Although some people argue that children will be greatly benefitted if they do the paid work, others consider that doing paid work can be detrimental to children. In my opinion, I believe that paid work can bring about more problems for children compared to any advantage it might bring.

Irrefutably, there are some inherent benefits of children working to earn money. Firstly, children can forge an understanding of the value of money. This teaches them that money does not grow on the trees and helps them appreciate the hard work needed to earn it. Secondly, they take the first steps in learning not to be frivolous with money. Many older children, for instance, have a part-time job in order to save for something they would otherwise be unable to afford. Understanding money management, furthermore, is valuable and practical when, as adults, they will need to balance their finances.

Nevertheless, in spite of the advantages above, I believe children could face serious drawbacks from paid work. One dangerous-hidden problem is that it exposes them to exploitation through slave labour. In many third countries that do not enforce children's employment laws, they will likely end up working under extreme conditions or even in life-threatening situations for negligible wages. Setting off life in this way makes it almost unfeasible for them to escape the poverty cycle when reaching maturity. Another obvious issue is that working may affect a child’s presence in the classroom and their ability to pay attention to schoolwork. This can be a problem as only a solid educational background will stand them in good stead for the future.

In conclusion, being exploited or struggling with attending class and academic grades far outweigh any of the minor merits that could result from children being involved in work experience.