Some people think that it is better to educate boys and girls in separate schools. Others, however, believe that boys and girls benefit mote from attending mixed schools.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In the era of globalization, the development of different education systems has raised a controversy on whether to teach boys and girls in separated schools or a mixed one. The advantages of these two formats will be discussed with a conclusion drawn personally at the end for wrap-up.

On the one hand, people support the idea of conducting education in distinctive schools for males and females for its significant benefits. Scientists proved that students in homosexual schools pay more attention to their lessons than their peers in regular schools. In other word, distracting effects of one gender on another like the so-called “teenage crush” are eliminated. Moreover, by attending to these forms of schools, girls find themselves more protected from sexual discrimination like bullies or harassment, which are observed to be committed more in mixed-gender schools. Above all, unisexual schools facilitate pupils to pursue their desired subjects without any prejudiction where girls are more encouraged to attend science classes or sport clubs and vice versa.

On the other hand, the rationale behind mixed school education is also obvious. From economic point, setting up a regular school prevents government from duplicate payments for facilities and building, not to mention the scarcity of landing in crowded countries like China or India. From developing point, mutual school for boys and girls provides better environment to grow their emotional intelligence as they are getting to exposed to a shrinked society at their early age. Furthermore, through participating different activities together, pupils can learn from their counter-gender friends and naturally improve themselves by absorbing social skills like communication, teamwork or critical thinking.

After all, from my past experience, traditional option like mixed school leads learners to a more permanent development. Yet, due to its sexual related matter, policy makers will be expected to work harder and take more action to assure equality and security of schooling conditions.