Some people think that it is more important to improve road and motorway than public transportation.

Do you agree or not?

It is true that transport development plays an important role in improving people’s daily lives. While I agree that road and motorway improvements are essential, I also believe that people should take public transportation into account.

On the one hand, it is necessary to make implement to road and motorways. Firstly, having better road and motorway systems helps reduce traffic congestion, a perennial problem in many cities. Take Hanoi as an example. Everyday in the rush hours, there would be endless traffic congestion on the grounds that roads are too small and crowded. Therefore, having better roads could solve this issue. Secondly, roads contribute to the economic growth of a city. In the past, places where roads run by had better chance to run a business because it would be more convenient to attract customers; nevertheless, that fact has not changed at present. If more roads were developed, people could make use of these roads to do a roaring trade.

On the other hand, it is wrong to reject the argument in favour of public transport. Firstly, using public transports saves the environment. Each person has a carbon footprint which directly affects our environment. When using private vehicles, we create more carbon footprint and therefore gradually destroy our surroundings. In contrast, using public transports is an efficient solution to this issue since its energy is eco-friendly. Secondly, public transportation is economical. It is clear that many people could not afford a car to travel. By using public transports, they could save a great deal of money for other purposes such as installing energy-saved household devices.

In conclusion, it is ludicrous to compare road and motorway with public transportation since they are equally important.