Some people think the news has no connection to people s lives so it is a waste of time to read the news in the newspaper and watch television news programmes To what extent do you agree or disagree

It is argued that news disconnects from the community and people could waste their time reading the newspaper or following the news on TV. While I accept that this appears logical, I think that this is a fairly narrow perspective, and I completely disagree with this statement.

On the one hand, I suppose that reading news and watching TV programs could not be considered a waste of time. Moreover, not only do these activities help people enhance comprehension but also improve the understanding ability in their private life. One possible reason for that is that almost all articles are very updated, which keep humans informed by precious knowledge found every day. Besides, news on TV programs contributes to warning people of various practical dangers such as the changing trend in behaviors of citizens.

On the other hand, I reckon that the news connects closely to people’s lives and there are many reasons to explain why news is playing a pivotal role in our society. First of all, the materials of news stem from individual matters and reflect many different fields. A number of kinds of problems in our real life such as diseases, crimes, natural disasters, etc. are reported directly by media agencies, which help people assess objectively what is happening and how these incidents relate to them. The second reason is that value experiences are formed from that and they could learn to develop their ability of self-defense, which is an essential characteristic for the unpredictable and chaotic world like it is nowadays. For example, in the context of the outbreak of Covid-19 pandemic, every citizen must aware of how to protect themselves from the infection of viruses. In this case, news departments would be the heralds and could alert people from the dangerous places.

In conclusion, I believe that the news plays an important part in our modern society. Furthermore, absorbing news and other kinds of news on TV offer people several benefits, which improve the quality of their life and boost the adaptable ability.