some people think that planning for the future is a waste of time. They believe that it is more important to focus on the present. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Opinion is divided as to whether or n people should sacrifice current priorities for future goals. While paying attention to the future has a number of benefits, I believe that it is more important to focus more on the present.

Admittedly, having a clear plan will drive individuals to succeed. At its simplest, a definite goal will dictate individuals’ actions and motivate them to make it a reality. Take Cristiano Ronaldo, a world-renowned footballer, for example. At age 5, he made up his mind to become a professional footballer. He sacrificed his childhood and devoted much of his time to honing his footballing skills and improving his stamina. His hard work paid off, turning him into one of the best strikers in the history of football. In contrast, those who do not plan for their future may become aimless, dabble in many pursuits and lead unproductive lives. They may end up wasting their youth and living to regret it in their old age.

Despite the valid argument mentioned above, I believe that people should pay more attention to present priorities. As life is complex, individuals have numerous problems to contend with, ranging from childrearing to household chores to pressure at work. Each issue is unique and requires time and effort to resolve. Thus, it is unrealistic for urban citizens to neglect current problems while allocating more resources to preparation for the future. For example, many parents in Vietnam are struggling to make ends meet to support their children, keeping them well clothed and fed. Given the option to meet current needs or plan for the future, the majority of them would opt for the former.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that it is more important to focus on the present than think about the future. However, this does not mean that planning ahead is an utter waste of time; it simply should not be prioritised.