Some people think that the role of parents is to discipline their children and

teach them about right or wrong (SIDE A). Other people consider that the main

responsibility of parents is to nurture their children and provide them with a safe

environment to grow up in. (SIDE B).

DISCUSS BOTH THESE VIEWS AND GIVE YOUR OWN OPINION.

Moving towards the 21 century, a large number of people are nowadays expressing a deeply growing concern about the roles of parents. n fact, there are some who hold firmly to their belief that parents discipline their children and teach them about justice morals. However, other argue convincingly that they nurture and provide children with a safe environment

To begin with, there are two primary points for people to defend the former argument discipline to secondary to the provision of protection and satisfaction of basic needs. First of all, it is a well - documented fact that children should receive everything they need for their well - being including shelter food and safety. The most obvious example to prove that giving children necessary support and freedom will allow them to form their own unique mindset, but maintaining reasonable levels of discipline will mold them into emotionally stable individuals. Furthermore, there s no doubt that children can not be treated as adults and expected to follow stringent rules, but instead should be able to rely on their family and feel safe. For instance, a children bran is in the process of development and cannot cope with stress and tension effectively.

On the other hand, there are two main evidences for other people to support the latter argument parents provide and nurture children a safe environment at home can avoid children from developing negative behavior. first and foremost, it is commonly accepted that to grow and develop properly, they need a surrounding which triggers a feeling of safety in them, so that relax their senses and calm their mind. A clear example being found to prove is that if the parents are abusive and fighting all the time, the child may develop a fear of them and act strangely. Equally important, there is no denying that when parents do not provide them a friendly environment they are more likely to develop anxiety and depression and this will cause them to develop aggressive and violent behavior later on in life. This is supported by the fact that A research study by the Guardian showed that 23% of the children in America developed some kind of violet and aggressive behavior as they were brought up by divorced parents.

All things considered, it is my strong belief that children should have a good environment and proper parenting in their children hood. ACCORDINGLY, I highly recommend that the government should enhance people awareness n terms of the responsibility of parents. if this recommendation s carried out, the comprehensive development of our society will be ensured