Some people think that school children should study international news as one of the school subjects. Other people think that it is a waste of valuable school time. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is often argued if students have to attend lessons in school, where they learn the global news. Some people claim that it is necessary to know, others have an opposite point of view, that such lessons only waste study time. As for me, it is a great opportunity for students to find their interests and develop in that direction.

On one hand, international news is able to develop childrens’ interests to determine what they want to do in the future career. Abundance of news in the world, such as climate change, political situation between countries, news about celebrities and others demonstrate a lot of potential occupation. In other words, students can be interested in one of subjects and further they can continue to develop it and get a profession, which is connected with this topic. It is often when the media tells about ecological problems, such as global warming and this information can affect on childrens’ minds. For instance, according to the research of British sociologists more than half of all students of the Faculty of Geography have decided to enter this department after reading news about environmental problems.

On the other side, the subject of world news can be not attractive for some students. In fact, students can lose the focus on general regular lessons, if they study international news, because not useful and not interesting information waste their minds. Besides, children have a lot of different compulsory subjects, which have to be visited, hence they prefer to have time for their own interests. As each person, children prefer to learn interesting subjects except the main subjects, one of them chooses music, others dances. For example, the survey about inputting new subjects in German schools has shown that students choose general subjects and time for their interests rather than spending time on unknown lessons.

In conclusion, I can say that the modern world has different ideas to input new subjects in school education, in this case, the international news may be a useful subject for studying in school, but there is an opinion that similar lessons just waste students’ time. To my mind, the knowledge of news helps students to find their possible future occupation and can apply this information.