Some people think that scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the government instead of private companies. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recent decades scientific scientific research have been carrying out no matter governments and privates companies. Although some people subscribe to a belief that scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the governments instead of private companies, this is in fact a common misconception that we need to clear it up. Personally, I partially agree this view and I believed that the research should be carried out by both government and privates.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that there are some advantages that scientific research should be carried out by governments. To begin with, governments have more resource of funds and talents to develop scientific research. Without support from governments, some milestone scientific breakthrough could not achieve. Such as outer space technology. Another benefit is that government could regulate some scientific researches which would pose a treat to our society. Finally, government would carried out some research which could not gain profits shortly but our society could be benefit from a long rung. Example some research related to environmental protection.

On the other hand, some sound arguments that can be made to defense scientific search should be carried out by private companies. For one thing private companies have a good sense of business insight, which can make them to have a better understand of market needs.Therefore,the products developed by private companies would satisfy what the market need. Furthermore, in order to survive in touch competition environment, the private companies would expedite product research and development. Unlike researches carried by governments, private companies focus on efficiency and productivity of research. private companies will apply the researched achievements into products or other practical technologies soonest, especially in high technology areas. For example, touch screen technology could be apply into cellphone in a short period with the effort of private companies. Last but not at least, scientific research carried by private companies may relieve financial burden of governments so that government could spend the money to other area such as education.

Given above arguments, I am convinced that scientific research should be carried by both government and private companies. It is unwise that scientific research only carried out by either governments or private companies. But governments should have the right to impose a prohibit to the researches of some profit driven companies which will be detrimental to our society .