Some people think sending criminals to prison is an effective way to deal with them. Others think education and training are better. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

While some people believe that incarceration is the best way to cope with criminals, others are of the opposing opinion that preventative measures are more effective. Within the scope of this essay, I tend to concur with the latter.

Sending all criminals to prison would be a terrible idea. This is because the purpose of prison is to deter and incarcerate criminals, but some types of crime can be deterred with less expensive and more productive measures. For example, those who commit petty crimes like pick-pocketing, shoplifting and speeding would contribute much more to society by undergoing community service or paying a fine. If, in contrast, every crime was sentenced with prison time, prisons would be full to bursting, law-abiding citizens would be faced with a huge tax burden, and the criminals themselves would learn nothing about their crimes.

Besides, education and training programs could increase the chances of criminals becoming a productive member of society. Indeed, being educated, offenders’ attitudes could be changed in a positive way and then distinguish the right and wrong, thus realizing that it is unacceptable to break the law. Moreover, it is important to train criminals to achieve normal jobs after their release. Some crimes committed might result from poor education backgrounds or low income, therefore, job training or job offering would be effective to prevent them from relapsing into crime in countries such as Switzerland.

In conclusion, I believe that education and training would be effective to reduce crime’s rate and imprisonment should be acted as a deterrent to those who commit heinous actions.