Some people think sending criminals to prison is not an effective way to deal with them. Education and training are better. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes believed that instructing a law-breaker would be more useful than imprisoning him. Personally, I do not think this is a workable method.

On the one hand, education is not a kind of punishment creating a deterrent to criminals. It habitually focuses on heightening the criminals' accomplishments which can bring a skilled workforce for society when they get out. However, some villains have made use of this government‘s tolerance for them to continue the redemption process. For instance, juvenile offenders, who are a typical example of those criminals being instructed instead of in prison, ascertain that they will not be imprisoned. Consequently, they do not repent of their violations and continue to sin after getting out of reformatory. Therefore, it is impossible for education to work on the heinous criminals.

On the other hand, confining recidivists is not only a commensurate penalty for them but also ensures the safety for those abiding the law. By enduring the extreme hardship in prison, the offenders can realise the depth of their sins. As a result, they will feel remorse for having violated federal law. Meanwhile, the citizens can also have a peaceful life, no longer worried about the disturbance caused by these offenders. My friend, as an example, who used to be afraid of going home alone himself at night because of the hooligans in his neighborhood, now can enjoy the parties without taking off soon as all of these hooligans have been put into jail by the police’s raiding.

In conclusion, although education is an ethical approach, it still has several flaws and can not be the final judgment for all types of various crimes. I suppose that serving a prison sentence is the most appropriate measure for the delinquents.