Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents Others however believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

We see or hear the news related to road traffic accidents every day. Though some people support the idea that harsh punishments for driving offenses can play a prime role to decrease traffic accidents, some including me, believe that improving road safety will be more helpful.

First of all, we need to understand the reasons behind the traffic accidents. According to one report I read, most of the accidents occurred in my country are due to irresponsive driving or mistakes are done by the drivers. Most of the drivers engaged in the accidents have driving licenses, legal documents of the vehicle and even wearing the seat belt at the time of the accidents. It clearly implies that if the government imposes strict punishments or penalties for driving offenses like driving without a license & documents or driving after alcohol consumption will surely help to reduce a few accidents, however, the impact would not be so much.

On the other hand, the government can improve the safety standards such as maintaining roads, street lights, side roads, correct traffic signs, etc. This will be more useful to guide all the drivers. Most of the accidents happen during the night, therefore if we can add some extra safety measures like traffic lights, speed breakers, etc. then it will surely curb a large number of road accidents at night. Also, we have traffic & driving-related rules with punishments and penalties that we must follow. Therefore, in my opinion, additional safety measures can actually reduce traffic accidents.

In conclusion, I think focusing on the improvement of road safety instead of increasing the penalty amounts or harshing existing punishments would be a more effective suggestion.