Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it Others think that school time should be used in learning important subjects Discuss both views and give your opinion

In today’s time, there is a great deal of suggestions being made to the study program for students and the subjects included therein. While some propose that the science and preparation of food should be added in courses, others insist on giving priority to more important subjects. Personally, I side with the latter view.

On the one hand, there are certain benefits to be gained from the study of food. Firstly, scientific knowledge about food encourages students to take a health-conscious approach to their diet. Because when students understand how food constituents like proteins, fats, carbohydrates, affect their physical condition, they may become more willing to adopt a balanced diet in preference to fast food. Also, food science entails the study of preparation methods that guide students towards food safety. Specifically, students can learn about the proper way of treating food, like dehydrating or freezing, as well as how to preserve and contain them appropriately to prevent bacterial growth. This, in turns, will minimize risks of foodborne illness.

On the other hand, I believe that students’ time should be dedicated to the learning of main subjects. The primary goal of school education should be to prepare students for one pivotal end that is the university entrance exam. This means placing more emphasis on core subjects like Math, Literature and English, which are practical subjects for evaluating students’ performance. Furthermore, it is likely that food science would only be introduced as a side-subject and account for one session in students’ weekly timetable. In other words, student’s engagement will be at a minimum, thereby limiting the subject’s applicability.

In conclusion, despite the several benefits offered by the incorporation of food science into students’ curriculum, I am still of the opinion that students should devote their time mainly to core subjects