Some people think that what children watch influences their behavior, while others believe the amount of time they spend on television influences their behaviors most. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

While some people believe that the content of TV programs has a significant impact on the way young children behave, others state that the length of time children spend watching TV affect their behaviors most. Personally, I think both of arguments have significant implications.

On the one hand, it is obvious that the content of TV programs influences children’s behaviors. Preschoolers are unable to distinguish between the right and the wrong and they tend to imitate what is depicted on the screen. Therefore, many inappropriate contents televised on TV programs can negatively shape children’s views and affect their behaviors. For example, watching some cartoons containing graphic violence and bullying can cause the potential of committing serious crime for children in the future.

On the other hand, there are several reasons why the amount of time children watch TV affects their behavioral patterns. First, spending too many hours on TV might cause the sedentary lifestyle for children since the lack of time to take part in outdoor activities. In addition, it can be seen that the more time children spend on TV, the less communicative they are. For instance, children who always glue their eyes on TV programs would hardly connect with their friends and unwilling to express their ideas at school.

In conclusion, I believe that both what children watch and how much time they spend watching TV affect their behaviors. Television station should control the contents which are unsuitable for children’s viewing and parents need to manage the time their children spend watching television every day