Some people think that you can never become fluent in a language unless you have spent time living or working in that country. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

One's linguistic mastery is no one-dimensional matter. While accustoming oneself t a language is widely regarded as pivotal, debates arise whether prospecting multi-linguists should go to as extreme of lengths as visiting the language's origins to achieve true fluency. In spite of its indisputable advantages, I am against the notion of resorting to such measures as a fixed prerequisite.

To begin with, statements acknowledging the merits of residing in a country on an individuals linguistic proficiency are indeed indisputable. In an environment which inhibits one to use their native language, said individuals have no choice but to exclusively utilize the language relevant in the country consistently. Many researches confirmed prolonged exercise of a skill done consistently enough leads to substantial improvement of said skill - and this includes linguistic proficiency.

However, other simpler means of acclimatization also exist. With the rapid availability of the Internet to the greater mass, being up to date to world's affairs has never been easier. Local news and entertainment medias (e.g., movies and songs) made in foreign languages have also been entertainment medias to the global audience - an opportunity countless polyglots has taken advantage of. While the utilization of such medias has varying degree of success, it is unarguably cheaper and subsequently more accessible to individuals other than the elites and elitists.

In other words, utilizing and familiarizing oneself to a language consistently via the omni-accessible Internet can serve as a cheaper and equal alternative to prolongedly residing in said language's home country. Nevertheless, dismissing either as being invalid means of improving one's fluency would be detrimentally unwise.