Some people think that young people should follow older people's example. Others, however disagree and believe that its good to challenge older people's opinions and thoughts. Discuss both the views and give your opinion.

The ever widening gap between the thinking of young and grey haired generation always leads to conflicts in the families and societies. According to some people, following the guidance and footsteps of old people is advisable for young people. By contrast, others are against to this view point and advocate that challenging the opinions and thoughts of old people yields fruitful results.

This essay intends to account for both sides with my own perception.

There are multifarious points to endorse the former view. First and the foremost, people of late adulthood are veterans and therefore following their examples always invites positive results. To demonstrate, old people have experienced many ups and downs in their lives. They have conducted plenty of experiments while dealing with critical situations. The experience gained from such experimentation has made them great thinkers, planners and wise decision makers. In addition, unlike young ones, grey haired people think more rationally as they have been through the realities of life.

Needless to say, the examples given by elderly people are worthwhile for youngsters in order to make superior decisions related to career and life. On the contrary, others have conflicting views.

They think that challenging the opinions and thoughts of old people is the need of the hour. To be specific, lifestyle has undergone dramatic changes over recent decades. The ways of dealing with the problems and situations also require changes. The ideas of old people may not fit in the solutions to modern problems. Besides this, young people are less likely to become inventive, creative and innovative if they only follow the opinions of elderly people. Thus, following ideas or examples of elders is not an idea to be welcomed.

To recapitulate, undeniably, experienced older people are invaluable advisors. However, we cannot underestimate the opposite view point. In my perception, youngsters should not only follow the advice of elderly people but also think rationally and deliberately before making crucial decisions.