Some people think zoos are cruel and all the zoos should be closed. However, others think zoos are useful to protect the rare animals. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Zoo is one of the most common entertaining places for many people. Nevertheless, it is argued by some people that zoos are so merciless that they should be stopped opening. I do believe that in spite of some inconveniences that zoos bring to animals, they help to protect endangered animals from distinction.

Many people belive that incarcerating animals in cages are extremely cruel as their living habitat is limited in some square meters in stead of a savanna or a jungle. People offer animals food and artificial living space, eradicating animals’s natural habitat such as preying or immigrating. In other words, zoos prevent animals from naturally growing and eliminating their instincts. Therefore, it can be said that zoos conserves wild animals but such creatures are not as savage as they are when they live in nature.

Nonetheless,it is undeniable that zoos play an essential role in saving rare animals from extinction. Obviously, zoos provide a sanctuary for endangered species, hence people can reduce their risk of becoming extinct, then scientists can research and conserve animals’ genes to maintain the balance of ecosystem and protect biodiversity. Additionally, as zoos are a popular place for leisure of children, we can hold lessons there to educate young people about nature and raise their love and respect to natural world.

In conclusion, opening or closing zoos are still a controversy in many countries but I do believe that we should remain operating such kind of public place. We should create a more friendly living space for animals to reduce the limitations of an artificial life in zoos.