Some people thinks that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures could be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In recent years, the number of traffic accidents have increased dramatically. Some people argue that harsh punishments are the optimal way to lessen them while others think that it could be more efficient to better road safety by other measures.This essay will look into both perspectives and provide my own opinion.

Penalties could be an effective way to improve drivers' awareness. As everybody appreciates the value of money they obtain,no one wants to be castigated and pay a heavy fine. Being punished, they will be more alert and aware of the responsibility of their actions. Harsh punishments can make threats against them that they are not allowed to commit any mistakes on the road.For example, in Vietnam, many old men used to defy the law and they often drank beer before driving, however, when the government mete out punishment with a heavy hand, hardly do people have driving offences and the traffic accident rate is decreasing remarkably.

However, it is true that other measures are also a solution to this traffic problem.People should be taught about traffic and how to ride or drive some means of transport carefully since they are teenagers or school-leavers. Government can also organize weekly classes for people and also children to come and assimilate their knowledge about traffic.It is also important to propagandize traffic awareness since it can affect people directly and prevalently.Many strict laws should be introduced to make people more cautious of not being a law-abiding citizens.

In conclusion, personally, I think it is extremely integral to combine harmoniously these two ways to reinforce the effect on all residents.Government should not only impose laws, fines, sentences,... but it's also ought to adopt other possible measures to tackle this problem.