Some say that because many people are living much longer, the age at which people retire from work should be raised considerably.

To what extent do you agree of disgree?

When talking about the perfect age for retirement, residents all around the world show several paradoxical opinions. One groups believe that “longer life means longer working time” so raising the working-age to few more years is completely a reasonable choice while the others indicate a different vision. In my point of view, longer longevity may not be enough to become the reason to increase much more working-hours.

To make it clearer, we can take a look at one study from Stanford University which shows that people with higher income tend to live longer. It is understandable because rich people are the one meeting all the conditions to afford medical exorbitant services and cutting-edge machines which affect directly to their health. Meanwhile, people in lower and working class who work as manual labors may not have a chance to access this services widely. Longer working time may attributed to many diseases of oldness.

Oldness may not be brutal for elderly but loneliness may. It could be the reason behind the death of someone and sadly this is one of the most prevalent reason when somebody decide to end up their life. We people dedicate merely half of our life for working, making money, contributing to local economy and tons of no-name jobs everyday and suddenly forget about our fundamental part of life, family. People at higher age like out grandparents and parents have a penchant for gathering, reuniting, relaxing and spending their precious time with beloved one. Raising the retirement age may narrow down the amount of time which they could spend for their family.

In conclusion, I believe adding few more years of working is not a suitable policy even when our longevity could be longer. In other word, not every contribution is worth your health and time.