Some school leavers travel or work for a period of time instead of going directly to university. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

These days and ages, high school students tend to have a journey or find an occupation in lieu of directly applying for a university. In my perspective, the merits of this trend eclipsed the demerits.

On the one hand, School leavers may have some problems in a year off. In detail, having a trip after completing senior high school, students may find it difficult to return to their study environment. Therefore, they could fall behind and this makes them more anxious, thereby, students can easily suffer from mental problems such as depression, paranoia,... The second reason is having jobs after graduating high school, pupils will lose their academic desire. Working at early age can make students tempted to earn money and tend to ignore the importance of studying higher education. As a result, it can limit their academic potential and they may have difficulty landing jobs requiring university degrees.

On the other hand, there are considerable merits when it comes to having a trip or an occupation in a gap year prior to university. The first reason is that traveling to many places can help learners broaden their horizons of knowledge. For instance, traveling to other regions, students will learn more about their culture also the language they speak. Another positive aspect is helping children realize their ability throughout doing many kinds of jobs. Therefore, they can choose the major they want exactly when coming back to university also the experience children have in a gap year would be beneficial for them in the future. Moreover, youngsters will learn to appreciate the value of money. And it would be more perfect if a school leaver combine traveling and working together because the benefits it brings are enormous.

In conclusion, the advantages of broadening knowledge and having wise decisions for the field that pupils want to take seem to overwhelm the disadvantages of having trouble when turning to the academic environment and being tempted in working.