Some scientists believe that studying the behaviour of 3-year-old children can tell which children would grow up to be criminals.
To what extent in your opinion is crime a product of human nature or is it possible to stop children from growing up to be criminals?
Some scientists are of the opinion that hereditary characteristics are responsible for the
person’s temperament and hence future career. I disagree with this notion. I believe that
genes do play a role but the primary determinant is nurture – education and bringing up. It
is definitely possible to mould a child into any direction by proper bringing-up.
If we adopt the mindset that if parents are criminals so will the children be then we are
limiting or even damaging the individual’s basic right to achieve his very best. Children can
rise above the gene pool and rise to great heights. Even if a child is born to criminal parents
but brought up away from that environment and provided quality education, he will not be
a criminal.
The debate on nature versus nurture has been raging for ages and no clear cut answer has
come forward. A child prodigy can be born to ordinary parents and many intelligent parents
can have ordinary children. A talented person can go unnoticed in the absence of right
environment and upbringing and an ordinary person can reach great heights with proper
training. So, interplay between hereditary and environmental factors must be there.
It has been seen that children born to intelligent parents also are intelligent and successful.
But it is also possible that such parents provide an environment which nurtures the
development of their children. When we see some programmes such as ‘India’s Got Talent’
and ‘Little Champs’, we notice some extremely gifted children who are born with talent and
also some who have achieved great heights with great perseverance and proper coaching.
To put it in a nutshell, I pen down saying that both nature and nurture play a part in
determining the character of a person. It can also be concluded that both are inextricably
linked with each other. But nurture weighs over nature and it is definitely possible to
prevent children from growing up to be criminals.