In some socities stress is now regarded as a major problem and it is thought that people suffer from more stress than they did in the past. However, others feel that the amount of stress people have today is exaggerated they say that previous generations

In our modern world, everything has become more complex and many people live under pressure caused by the stress in our daily routines. However, some people think that people in the past lived more stressful life. I partly agree with both statements and here are some examples to support my opinion.

To begin with the fact that everybody wants to be successful and has a good quality of life. This leads to endless competition with others because everyone wants to be better. In some societies having a good education and secure well-paid job is a top priority but to achieve that people have to go through a lot of stress. For example, if you are a businessman, you need to work every day for your business and focus all your energy and thoughts into it, which definitely will lead to stressful way of living. It not a coincidence that most of the wealthiest people do not have happy personal life or suffer from mental problems, caused by life under pressure.

On the other hand, people in the past did not have so many job opportunities which made their life stressful because they did not have enough money. Moreover, previous generations lived in relatively turbulent times and were forced to participate in wars. Ordinary people lived under pressure because of the insecurity about their safety. For instance, when the second world war broke out thousands of men joined the army leaving their families without knowing whether they will come back.

In conclusion, I believe that each generation has its own disadvantages, whether it is about inability to find a job or to live a happy life. For me, living under pressure is just state of mind and everyone can choose to live their own life. The balance between secure job and loving family is the key to success.