Some students decide early in life to pursue vocational careers that involve cooking or baking. For them, it is better to study their chosen occupations in high school rather than regular subjects.

To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Many students have a tendency to choose their vocational careers such as cooking or baking at early age. Therefore, it is believed that these students better acquire knowledge concerning their chosen jobs instead of learning a wide range of academic subjects at terriary school level. I disagree with this trend owing to several reasons.

On one hand, it can be beneficial that students should study some future-job related subjects at high school. The first reason is that being engaged in these subjects would make them more focused on the grounds that these subjects play an indispensable role in their career path. Take cooking as an example, if these students are allowed to participate in cooking classes, they are more likely to learn attentively. Secondly, vocational careers usually require hands-on experience. Therefore, attending some vocational subjects solely necessitates learners to obtain experience in factual situations, which is fundamental in making them a prospect candidate for their future job.

On the other hand, I strongly believe that being occupied with a range of academic disciplines would benefit students in their vocational jobs to a greater extent. The fact that students who are equipped with in-depth knowledge in chemistry or biology are more likely to perform better at workplace. In addition, learning different school subjects at high school provide students a means to train their mindset and cultivate their ability to adapt themselves in various settings, which is absolutely vital in this competitive job market of contemporary world. For instance, a chef who has profound knowledge of nutrition and chemical substances usually receive a preference over others.

In conclusion, despite some benefits of learning some job-related subjects this is more advantageous for those who make decision to pursue vocational jobs to learn a range of school subjects at high school.