Some students take one year off between finishing school and going to university, in order to travel or work. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Today, one of the most conspicuous trends among youngsters who just have graduated high school is taking a gap year as a way to have a trip or work. I hold the view that this tendency could bring more merits compared to any drawbacks it might bring.

Admittedly, there are some minor cons related to financial difficulties and academic performance when they pursue university. Firstly, a year break would leave young individuals encountering financial predicaments. Indeed, taking sabbatical gives rise to the expenditures on commuting, living expenses, traveling; which may make students struggle to manage their budgets well without any experience. In addition, after a year off, young adults might lose study skills. Apparently, theoretical knowledge or mathematical skills which are significantly required in a university environment may be useless and superfluous during gap year. As a consequence, this may leave people unable to catch up with their peers as well as achieve high-performing academic results.

Notwithstanding the negative aspects above, I believe having a break time is beneficial for youngsters considering their future and sentimental aspects. First and foremost, this propensity would allow people to gain valuable hands-on experience. For instance, with students opting to seek a job, they may obtain a wide range of useful skills and experience including interpersonal, solving-problem or team-working skills; which make a great contribution for young adults to their university-living and adulthood preparation. Furthermore, having a sabbatical year may facilitate pupils’ mental wellness. Evidently, during high-school life, students already have to deal with an excessive load of knowledge that makes them seriously stressed and exhausted. Therefore, taking a break gives individuals a chance to unwind, get away from educational burden and recharge their batteries.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that the pros in respect to valuable lessons and relaxation clearly dwarf the demerits relating to money and study progress of young adults.