Some studies show that criminals get a low level of education. Some people believe that the best way to reduce crime is educating people in prison so they can get a job after leaving prison. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that educating offenders in prison is the best way to put the crime rates under control. While I agree that this contributes to the reduction of crime, I am convinced that this is far from the best way to reduce crime rates in the future.

It is believed that educating people in prison plays an important role in the effort of reducing crime. One reason is that this form of education equips criminals with working skills which are really essential for them after they are released back into society. For example, with the trained working skills, people in prison can earn a living after being given a chance of rehabilitation. Furthermore, educating in prison instills in offenders a sense of value and self-worth in order to help them become useful members of the community. They may express more empathy with others around them and stay away from committing crime again.

However, it is argued that in-prison education is far as the most effective way contributing to the decrease in crime. One reason is that this kind of education is applied only for those who have committed an offence, so it has no preventive value. Instead, the governments should impose strong measures which are tough on crime such as longer imprisonment and severe punishment. These measures will act as a deterrent and have preventive value on those who have an intention of carrying out crime. Besides, the significant role of school education cannot be downplayed. Crime education at schools should be organized to equip students with knowledge and skills to prevent them from turning into crime in the future.

In conclusion, although educating criminals in prison can contribute to the reduction of crime, I strongly believe that other measures like school education, longer imprisonment and severe punishment are the most effective ways to reduce future crime rate.