Some teachers say students should be organised into groups to study, while others argue that students should be made to study alone. Tell the benefits of each study method. Which one do you think is more effective?

While studying in groups is shown to be an effective learning method, some students choose to study alone at their own pace. The 2 approaches each have distinct advantages and the choice is more a matter of personal preference.

Group learning is strongly advocated as it offers several unique benefits. First, this method requires the sharing of ideas. Students need to listen to their fellow students and debate

should any problems arise. Naturally, their problem-solving skill and critical thinking abilities will be greatly enhanced. Group learning also creates competition which is a positive force to motivate and challenge them. Peer pressure in study groups also prepares students for future reality.

On the other hand, some students favour studying alone. In this way, they are kept away from distracting conversations and unwanted interruptions so that they can concentrate better and efficiently use time. Moreover, students who often study alone might be more independent as they can pace their own learning. This is especially helpful to intellectually gifted students who love self-learning and self-discipline.

In conclusion, there are solid arguments for each learning method, but as far as I am concerned, to become a successful learner, students should form study groups due to the

competition and skills they provide.