Some teachers think that international student exchange would be beneficial for all teenage school students.Do you think its advantages will outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, international exchange, a program which allows university student to study abroad in a partner institution has become prevalent in plenty of countries. Some educator worries that this program has a significant possibility of reducing children's academic performance. However, despite the negative influence, I think the pros will excel cons.

The exchange program tends to have many positive benefits on students. It forces children to leave their comfort zone and live in a foreign territory which is totally different from their homeland, and even the local language is not familiar to them. Therefore, they have to try to get along with local people, especially their peers in local school¸ to study their language and culture. It is a good opportunity for them to learn how to both make friends with foreign people and study a foreign language. Also, their independent ability and social skills will get raised quickly during their visits to strange places.

Indeed, there may be some adverse effects on teenagers. For instance, visitors will have to spend a lot of time adapting to the new environment, and some of them may even not get used to new surroundings. Besides, the exchange visit will cost amounts of money which cannot be afforded by many families. Nevertheless, this does not automatically mean that the demerits dwarf the merits. Regarding those families who can afford this trip, there is no doubt that it is an excellent investment to their children because some abilities just mentioned above can be easily acquired in not daily life but a new situation.

In conclusion, it is easy to conclude that the advantages of the international exchange exceed the disadvantages. What teenagers have paid in the foreign country will be rewarded in their lives. They will become more confident and independent person with a broader prospect both in daily life and on international affairs.