Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, there is widespread concern regarding the integration of different cultures. Someone advocates that settling down in a foreign country without a native language can cause both social and practical problems. From my perspective, with the help of the network and dazes of translation apps, these problems probably may not happen.

Being incapable of mastering the local language may not have negative influences on society. The key reason lies in the fact that it is easy for people to learn about other cultures, because of the popular social network, which contains people all around the world. Therefore, natives may not know nothing about foreigners, but be curious about other nationalities, especially people appearing in the local community. Local people may also be willing to make friends with newcomers and instruct them on how to live in the local community. These behaviours can, to some extent, avoid culture shock or confliction, which may lead to social problems.

In the term of practical problems, lacking the ability to speak the native language may not obstruct the communication between immigrants and their colleagues. First of all, because English is becoming more and more popular, they can exchange their ideas in English, if both of them are English speakers. Even if one of them do not have that ability, they can also use some translation apps, which have already gain powerful function. As time goes on, it may be not difficult for immigrants to master the local language and local culture.

In conclusion, due to the development of science and technology, the barrier between people, who speak a different language, is eliminated constantly. Problems resulted by culture confliction and language misunderstanding may be absent in the future.