Some think the best way to motivate and encourage people to work hard is to pay them based on how much they produce and sell To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion

As businesses become more competitive, every manager is trying to motivate their employee to put more effort into their job performance and the common way to do this is basing an employee’s salary On their rate of production and sales. I, however, do not agree that this method would be the best.

The performance of many workers can not simply quantified with the rate of sales or production. For example, my job as a statistician is to gather data, analyze and plan for future. None of which involves producing or selling products with a definite price tag. This renders misusing how much I have sold or produced is not possible for my company where I work. instead, the exact data, correct analyze, the performance of my planning, and the level of my manager satisfaction is help to decide how much successful I have been.

furthermore, there are some unexpected factors that affect on the performance of the workers. The current state of economy, unexpected political development, and extreme weather conditions all have significant impact of how much the employee sells sell or produce. Hurricane, for example, can easily devastate a farm and all its products without any of worker being responsible for any of damages or decrease in production rate. Therefore basing wages on how much sell or produce can demotivate workers in such cases.

In conclusion, I think deciding how much employees should earn solely on how much they sell or produce is unfair or impossible in most, if not all, Cases. instead employers should look at a more diverse set of performance indicators, including customer satisfaction or punctuality.