Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study alone. this is a positive or negative development?

The development in education sources change rapidly. Many universities choose to use the Internet to deliver their lessons. I think this development has more negative impacts than positive ones. In this essay, I will look at the negative impacts of online course and mention briefly the positive impacts.

The use of Internet in delivering effective lessons is one of the use common in modern era. Internet could be invaluable for students because they can make their lessons less teacher-led and more about autonomous learning. They can gather and search big data with unlimited resources on the Internet. Furthermore, they can develop their skill such as independent research and synthesising sources.

however, online course have certain drawbacks toward students. Online sources might become unreliable or even misleading sources because there is no barrier in online world. It leads false information and data which can be accessed by pupils. Secondly, there is no socializing between lecturers and students which is one of the crucial parts to offer the lessons effectively. Students become distance learner that might have negative impact to them. They have lack of interaction with their friends and teachers in the class which is worst for their social skill.

To sum up, nowadays some universities offer their lessons through Internet. In my point of view, the use of online course is ineffective to students. I prefer to use old-fashioned teaching method to deliver the lessons and to avoid the false information that might happen in the Internet.