Some universities offer online courses as an alternative to classes delivered on campus Do you think this is a positive or negative development

Recently, some universities provide online classes as an option to direct courses conducting on campus. In my point of view, this is a truly negative development. In this essay I will explain the drawbacks of the rising issue.

In this developing technology era, there are many applications and gadgets that support us to do our works easier including in education. Some universities now offer online classes that can be accessed everywhere by the students. Of course, it makes courses delivered efficiently. However, there are several negative side that should be criticized. Firstly, there are some students that have incompatible gadget and do not have enough access to the internet. Hence, some online class can not be one hundred percent delivered to the students. A recent survey to the undergraduate students in Indonesia reported that around 30% of them missed their online classes and failed to submit their tasks due to unstable internet connection. As a consequence, they failed to get good score in some subjects.

The second drawback related to the online courses is the less of interaction between lecturers and the students that can lead to the difficulties in class evaluation. The lecturers often unable to control whether their students truly present in their class especially when they turn off their cameras or have no response to the lecturers. In addition, the discussions that usually happened in class directly will be harder in the online meeting due to any barriers of connection. One study surveying lectures from a state university explained that approximately 45% lecturers felt so lonely when they teach an online class because most of the students turned their cameras. Moreover, when they tried to ask and start any discussions, the majority of students were just keep silent.

To sum up, although online course now be offered as an alternative class, it has many negative sides that should be taken into account in successing the educational process.