Some universities offer online courses for students. Do you think this is a positive or negative development for students?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

With the significant jump of Internet users, some institutions tend to improve their courses online so that students can access and learn by their own anytime and anywhere. In this essay, I will discuss the principal advantages and drawbacks of this trend before a reasoned conclusion.

Firstly, studying online has many benefits for both students and universities. Nowadays, almost all people have digital devices such as smartphones, laptops and computers to access the Internet, therefore they can choose the most convenient time and location to study. It could be the big jump on gaining knowledge. In addition, money spends on education could be reduced. Universities could demand their staffs to build their courses one time and use them for many students. Institution also reduce their resources on building campuses because learners could not attend in class in person.

On the other hand, studying on the Internet could lead to some problems. People could tend to isolate themselves at home with smartphones and computers. Furthermore, they could lack of soft skills such as teamwork and critical thinking that are essential for future development. Additionally, with the invention about AI, teachers could have a competition with technology. Opportunities for jobs could be harder.

In conclusion, offering universities' courses online has advantages and disadvantages. From my point of view, I think this is a positive development. When I were an undergraduate, my university introduced an online course about background information in economic. I found out that studying online was interesting and convenient. Therefore, institution should spend their resources to build both online and offline courses for students.