Space exploration is a controversial topic. Some people believe that resources should be invested in exploring space, while others argue that this money could be better spent on more pressing problems on Earth, such as poverty and climate change. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, the question of whether nations should allocate budgets to research on other planets has become a controversial topic. While some have argued that this investment is valuable, others hold the thought that it is better to spend money on more urgent issues. Both points of view have rational reasons which will be elaborated on in this essay but I agree with the latter assertion.

On the one hand, there are good grounds to argue that findings from space investigation could bring significant benefits in terms of human life and the economy. First and foremost, it might open a promising new environment for people in case life on Earth goes extinct in the future. Indeed, since the Earth’s habitat in recent years has become more and more hostile with detrimental climate change threatening human life, looking for a new planet to inhabit may be an effective solution worth considering. In addition, should research on outer planets be conducted, valuable minerals, such as gold, titanium, and so on with high economic value might be discovered. As a result, instead of exploiting Earth’s natural resources, people can take advantage of other sources in space to serve the economy.

On the other hand, I believe national authorities should prioritize other more pressing problems, especially poverty alleviation and addressing climate change. Firstly, in most developing and undeveloped countries, it is indisputable that the government cannot help all citizens have a good quality of life let alone spend money on space research. For instance, in Africa, it has been witnessed that a huge number of people cannot access basic needs for life and education so budgets should be used to deal with this problem. Secondly, decades have shown that global climate change has impacted negatively on the Earth’s life while finding a new planet to live on is not an easy task but costs a fortune and takes a lot of time. Therefore, to solve this problem immediately, the government should implement policies to heal Earth such as investing in alternative energy sources and planting trees.

In conclusion, although research in the universe comes up with certain benefits, it only should be invested by wealthy nations while national money should be used for other important issues.