Space exploration requires vast sums of money. Is the amount of money spent on space research justifiable? Could the money be better spent?

What is your viewpoint on this issue? Give reasons for your answer.

There is no doubt that research and experiment in space require high expenditure/ huge monetary investment. Pouring money into space exploration for finding a new place to live is quite justifiable. However, problems such as poverty and improper utilization of resources must be taken into consideration by a country, which cannot be overlooked at any cost.

Space exploration is the only way of finding another inhabitable place for humans to live. The reason for this is that Mother Nature has reached on its threshold as all the natural resources are coming to an end. Therefore, with the help of money, it becomes easy for space explorers or scientists to reach out to the alternative places to live. Mars, for example, is said to be the next habitat of humans and it is only possible when vast amount of money will be spent on it. Moreover, it also helps to spot / identify the incoming dangers from space. To be more specific, space stations, which are very expensive to build, warn scientists about incoming dangers such as asteroids which may collide with earth and could create havoc/ destruction. However, I believe that money can be better utilized for other urgent problems. One of the problems is endless poverty. Millions of people die every year because of scarcity of food. The financial resources spent on space research can be spent to provide food to the needy. For example, in South Africa, thousands of people die because of hunger. The money utilized on space research by developed countries like USA must be used for this major concern. Additionally, there are debates on shelling out this much amount rather than making rules on the judicious utilization of natural resources. Reckless use of resources is one of the main cause degradation of Earth. Thus, governments and international organizations should put forward this issue on their main agenda rather than space exploration.

In conclusion, despite the fact that space exploration is the need of the hour, other grave matters such as destitution and injudicious use of natural resources cannot be neglected and money could be used on solving these problems.