In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry.Why is this the case?What can be done about this problem?

Tremendous efforts and progresses have been recorded in the agricultural sector of an economy, yet many communities are famine. The reasons are not farfetched. I think that the beliefs of some people and the high cost of materials - fertilizers, tools, and machineries contribute to this cause.

First of all, the beliefs of some persons make them practise peasant farming. The negative impact of synthetic fertilizers in the body system, the dangers accompanying the use of tools such as drones, cows etc and low technical know-how of the sophisticated machineries. For instance, I witnessed where a farmer said he cannot use fertilizers either organic or synthetic ones on his crops because of the adverse effects. Proper education and orientation for local farmers can solve this menace.

Secondly, the high cost of materials chased many commercial farmers away from accessing them. Farmers who already are on shortage due to loss of some farm produce to weather conditions and storage facility. The storage equipments are highly costly and are not affordable by the farmers. Bank loan and cooperative thrift can tackle this problem, the association of farmers can go to bankers and tender the cost implications and expected yield and time.

In conclusion, the beliefs of some farmers and the high cost of materials have contributed to the retarded growth of agriculture in some communities and I think that proper education and orientation should be given to such farmers and the formation of association by farmers can help them access loans from banks to procure highly costly equipments.