Spoken communication is more always powerful than written communication. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that the verbal form of communication is more powerful than written communication. In my opinion, It varies from individual to individual, and also depends on the context in which the matter is conveyed to other people. Thus, both forms of communication hold equal importance.

On the one hand, spoken communication is beneficial to some extends. First, It will save a great time of communication. It can be explained by the fact that since Oral communication is very fast, It saves the time involved in writing the message and delivering it through a channel like the postal or courier services. Second, another advantage of oral communication is that it is often considered versatile. This means that Oral communication provides an opportunity for the speaker to correct himself and make himself clear by changing his voice, pitch, tone, etc. A number of other factors like context, body language, etc. can be used to reinforce and modify what is spoken through the words.

On the other hand, written communication has got some special qualification that made it popular among people engaged in organizational management. To begin with, In case of difference of opinion in certain important matters of communication or in need of submitting any evidence in the court, written communication is considered to be authoritative because it is acceptable as a legal document. Furthermore, Written communication gives the receiver an opportunity to go through the message again and again until he understands the message clearly. A clear and complete understanding of the message is possible under such a communication system.

In conclusion, the two means of communication are equally powerful depending on the nature of the message. Each method has its own potentiality, so its use should be carefully considered to get the desired result.