Spoken communication is more powerful than written communication. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

From the past to the present, communication which has been one of the most important things in society includes two main methods by speaking and writing. Some people argue that speaking is a more effective way than writing to communicate and I suppose that there are specific meanings in each way.

To begin with the written communication, people might save the important discussions or express the shame smoothly. First, in a significant meeting, people tend to conclude the conference by text, which will be sent to participants so that they can double-check and confirm the information exactly. Another advantage of writing is showing the feeling which people can not or do not want to express directly. In fact, most people, especially an introvert, are easy to meet embarrassment situations whenever to make an apology or express the gratitude. Therefore, they prefer using letters, emails, or SMS as a way to send their messages.

When it comes to verbalized communication, it is clear that people use this method more frequently on daily basis due to the convenience and informality. On top of that, the emotion of the speaker substantially contributes to the coherence of conversation and admittedly, people can guest the partner’s emotion exactly when they have face-to-face contact. For example, the facial expression is likely to show the feeling of people at that time, which help the others know whether the topic is suitable or not or just get a reason to ask if they have problems. Finally, most people spend less time speaking than writing on the same topic, so that prevents them from time-consuming.

In conclusion, communicating by either speaking or writing also transfer the opinions clearly to the receiver. However, it is more successful if people choose a suitable method depending on the different situations.