Spoken communication is more powerful than written communication. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely considered that speaking is more powerful than writing. Although this notion is easy to understand because spoken communication tends to show the expression of the speaker more clearly, in my opinion, I firmly disagree with this perspective and believe that written communication has more intensive powers.

On the one hand, speaking could provide with plenty of effects through the speakers’ expressions. A speaker can raise people’s motivations and feelings after presenting a wise, fluent, forceful speech. However, words are but wind, these effects could also be temporary because the audiences could forget all the words right after the dialogue. For instance, nowadays many people listen to TED Talks videos with enthusiastic speakers and interesting speeches but there was a survey showed that 76% of them cannot actually follow the ideas of those speakers to put theories into practice in daily life. In addition, speakers who speak with their expressions are likely to forget to follow the previous plans of their speeches so that they cannot demonstrate their full ideas from the first place.

On the other hand, written communication might be prioritized over the spoken one’s. The written format might require skillful writers to illustrate the context in a precise way. Essays, materials, or many writing platforms can attract people with a huge number of figures of speech such as simile, metaphor, or alliteration, which sometimes are too formal to include in spoken contexts. These figures can make people comprehend the ideas and the beauty of words. Furthermore, while verbal communication can create momentary impressions, people can have more intense emotions and understandings with written communication. In fact, after reading a book, we might tend to have deeper thoughts and take time to truly understand all the notions that were given. From that point, written works and materials might result in powerful and profound thoughts of the readers.

To conclude, it is often argued that verbal communication has a more vital role in daily life than written platforms. On the opposing side, I firmly believe that written communication might have more powerful influences on people due to numerous of skills and the depth of mind that it requires.