Students should be taught academic knowledge so that they can pass exams, and skills such as cooking and dressing should not be taught. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Together with the accelerating pace of global development, education has been at the forefront of public attention. There exist some schools of thought that in order for students to sail through exams with flying colors, they should be provided with academic knowledge, and skills such as cooking and dressing had better not be imparted. From my perspective, I’m convinced that it is of great necessity for students to be equipped with soft skills on the following grounds.

First and foremost, an undue amount of academic knowledge is regarded as a considerable encumbrance to students’ psychological health. Cramming into too much theory culminates in the state of being overwhelmed and the inability to effectively absorb the knowledge due to perfunctory or mechanical learning. The overload means students’ interests being degenerated and the learning curve declining beyond expectations. That’s not to mention the fact that a rigorous schedule can lead to mental illnesses because of constant stresses and strains. Therefore, home economics courses serve as a break from a demanding timetable, thus piquing the efficacy of the learning process and boosting learners’ interests accordingly.

Secondly, the beneficial aspects of life skills can be long-lasting and valuable for a lifetime. Soft skills are indispensable during every part of one’s life when academic knowledge is superfluous on account of its scientific characteristics. It is no exaggeration to say that young generations who are fully occupied studying tend to be devoid of essential life and survival skills when entering their adulthood. Therefore, teaching home economics is of monumental significance/utmost importance to a more comprehensive development of students. Students’ self-reliance could be further encouraged, which could help them lead an independent and fulfilling life in the foreseeable future.

Supporters of the full distribution of theory may argue that an outstanding scholastic achievement opens up better learning opportunities for students in prestigious institutes, thus significantly enhancing their job prospects. While this line of reasoning is built on certain strong grounds, it is limited as the absorption of academic knowledge cannot help them manage their lives when left to their own devices. The unrivaled favorable outcomes of home economics courses make it essential to involve students in basic life skills lessons.

In conclusion, soft skills such as cooking and dressing play an indispensable role as they engender a sense of relaxation and foster self-reliance, whereas an excessive amount of academic knowledge results in mental exhaustion among learners. Therefore, it’s my conviction that home economics should be incorporated into the school curriculum to promote an all-around education.