Students should choose a university major that prepares them for high-paying careers. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Figuring out what you want to pursue in life in terms of a career path is a tough decision for every student at all times. Some people have recommended that students should apply for a course that prepares them for high-income professions. I completely disagree with this proposition for two reasons, and this essay will explain why.

Firstly, in my opinion, students should opt for their passionate main subject, instead of the one that succours them earn the most money in the future. Only when a student pursues his dream could he have confidence and motivation in order to get through the course and attain a desirous occupation. More students are dropping out of college as they have no enthusiasm for their undertaking programme. Many studies have proven that one of the mainsprings that causes dropouts is choosing the wrong major, which would lead to all sorts of problems including discouragement, or even depression. Therefore, students should stick to their interests when choosing a university major, in place of salary issues.

Another reason why I am against this statement is that students should choose a major that they found their metiers in it, rather than choosing a high-income earning major. Every student has their own accomplishment, in other words, a special ability to learn or do something very well, and thus they will have a high chance to be successful if they choose the right major. Knowing what a person is good at is always a key to success. Clearly, it is much better if students choose a major depending on their aptitude.

This essay discussed why students should not choose a university major based on high-paying possibilities because students should choose the major rest on their passion and gifted talents. In my opinion, I completely disagree with the proposition that students should choose a university major that prepares them for high-paying careers.