Studies Show That Criminals Get Low Level Of Education. Some People Believe That The Best Way To Reduce The Crime Is Educating People In Prison So They Can Get A Job After Leaving Prison. To What Extent Do You Agree Or Disagree?

People have different views about educating offenders in jail to deter crime and they make earnings after being released from prison. To a certain extent I agree that provide education and vocational training is necessary for criminals. However, I also believe that education is not the best solution to reduce crime.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why criminals should be imprisoned. Firstly, prison is the punishment for crime against society. Offenders who commit serious crimes such as robbery or murder might face life imprisonment. They must learn that, if they break the law, they will get punished for their bad behaviors. Secondly, people are fearful of offenders, therefore offenders should be kept in jail. If dangerous offenders are not imprisoned, that would be very dangerous for citizens. Furthermore, it could raise the people’s awareness in order not to resort to criminal practice.

By contrast, I accept that education for prisoners may give to the reduction of the crime rate. The primary reason is that such a form of education could provide offenders with the working skills that are essential when they return to the community and help them integrate into society easily. Also, vocational training is the solid foundation for criminals to change their future. Moreover, education prevents them to re-offend another crime after being released from prison. Prison education also breaks down racial and ethnic barriers that are often a cause of tension and violence in prisons, improves significantly relations between staff members and the incarcerated, and dramatically enhances the prisoners’ self-esteem.

For the above reasons, I believe that rehabilitation programs are not the best way to cut down lawbreakers, but it still the good way to raise the people’s awareness.