Studies suggest children now whatch more television than they did in the past and spend less time doing active or creative things . Why do you think this is the case ? What meausures could be taken to encourage children to spend more time doing active and creative things ?

According to the recent studies, the amount of time children spend doing activities which involve activity or imagination has decreased , whereas the amount they spend infront of television has increased. This essay will discuss the reason why this phenomenon is occuring , and offer some solutions.

Generally speaking , there are two main reasons why youngesters spend more time watching television. Perhaps the main reason is that there are variety of shows which attract children attention . For example , nowadays there are about 40 or 50 channels to choose from , whereas in the past there were only 1 or two channels .Another reason is that children often live in flats or apartments,which are closed places , therefore they don't have any outdoor areas where they can go and play .

However, there are a variety of viable solutions to overcome this issue.The main way to combat this problem is by restricting the amount of television children can watch . Parents should allow their children to watch television for only one or two hours per day then the children will try other things to do . Another potential solution is that parents should encourage them to do their hobbies , to play music , or to play sports.

In conclusion , I feel that the best way solve this issue is by controlling how much television children watch . If children spend less time staring at this screen , they will be able to do things that broaden their mind .