"The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people." Do you agree or disagree?

The prompt raises the contentious issue of whether the wellbeing of the general population or the accomplishments of a selected few is a preferable metric to judge a country’s “greatness”. I personally believe that truly influential leaders, scientists and celebrities play a far more vital role in propelling a nation forward.

To begin with, a great nation should be determined by factors such as its power of military, economic strength, international reputation or coverage of medication and education, rather than merely statistical measurements like the GDP. Virtually all of the above factors can be guaranteed if the country has a strong group of pioneering people, in this case rulers, scientific scholars and artists.

Great government leaders are capable of implementing prudential strategies and policies, making headway for economic improvement and producing times of stability, which in turn facilitates citizen’s prosperity, and paradoxically: welfare. Scientists and artists, additionally, contribute immensely to their origin countries’ worldwide reputation. For instance, if an Oscar-winning actor or a Covid vaccine inventor gets acclaimed internationally, their home country's image will be promoted as well. This can be utilized to rally global attention and, potentially, assistance in other sectors like tourism, commercials or even agriculture.

Indeed, a powerful nation also takes citizens’ welfare into consideration, but it should not be the sole indicator of the nation’s progress itself, as stated above. Excellent governance and global power generate the population's welfare, but welfare alone by no means compensates. Take Bhutan for example - a country with by far the highest Gross National Happiness Index, yet has marginal influence on the world in terms of military strength or political impact, and is nowhere near being regarded as a “great nation”.

In brief, neither factor is to be made light of in leading a nation towards greatness, be it the health, happiness and fortunes of the vast majority, or the laurels of a certain group. The fact of the matter is, with great pioneers comes a great community.