Taking a gap year is beneficial in this modern world for students before they enter universities. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this trend?

Some believe that it is advantageous for students to have a gap year before going to universities. Though students can benefit a lot when taking a gap year, I do think that this trend still holds some drawbacks.

On the one hand, taking a gap year is a good opportunity for students to obtain hands-on experience which is helpful for them in universities and the future working environment. As a matter of fact, students can apply for short-term jobs during a gap year. This not only provides them useful working skills but also helps them earn a living. Moreover, many students usually spend their gap year studying a new language or exploring new places without worrying about subjects at school. As a result, after one year, many students would end up possessing a lot of practical skills and knowledge.

On the other hand, having one year off is considered to be wasteful for some students. In fact, many students taking a gap year just end up wasting a lot of valuable time without learning many new things as they don’t have a clear plan. Consequently, they are left behind by their friends and miss out on opportunities. Furthermore, taking a gap can make some students feel discouraged and forget all about the knowledge they learned in high school when entering university. As a result, this will lead to inconvenience and difficulty for some students

To summarize, although taking a gap year can be really useful for students, I also believe that there are many downsides of this trend.