Task 2 In some countries advertisers increase the amount of advertising which tries to persuade children to buy snacks toys and other goods Parents object to such pressure on children But some advertisers claim that there is useful information in these ad

It is undeniable that numerous commercial advertising campaigns have been conducted to attract children. While some people argue that such advertisements are informative and beneficial for youngsters, I believe that they are unnecessary and disadvantageous for children.

On the one hand, some corporations confirm that the objective of their marketing activities is merely to inform the children about a range of choices of products. When promoting the products, they suppose that their information can provide adequate knowledge to help youngsters to make appropriate decisions when purchasing their goods. For example, when a chocolate bar is launched, children can only learn about the chemical ingredients and nutrients of this product via commercial advertisements, which may hardly be found in the conventional lectures of their educational institutions. Hence, if this information is not frequently imparted to the youngster, they would enter adult life without these useful skills.

On the other hand, I concur with the argument that parents should be wary of the marketing campaigns that are increasingly exposed to their children. Firstly, the children have inadequate experience in market judgments. They are likely to be swayed by several forms of advertisements, especially celebrity endorsement, including the glamorous appearance of their favorite celebrities. For instance, the introduction of new designer products along with the presence of famous superstars can effectively stimulate youngsters to squander their savings, especially when some of their friends have already possessed these items. Secondly, youngsters should be allowed to experience the simplicity of their childhood instead of facing the complications of financial problems, because the pressure of consumption is an inevitable consequence of modern life.

In conclusion, I agree with the opinion that the advertising companies are exerting many pressures on the choices of consumption of children, which may be unnecessary for their childhood.