Task 2: In many cities there is little control on the design and construction of new homes and office buildings, and people can build houses in their own style. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a situation?

It is obvious that national and local authorities tend to fail to introduce restriction on construction planning. While this tendency provides homeowners with many advantages of housing building, I would argue that the disadvantages outweigh such benefits.

On the one hand, it is incontrovertible that less controlled construction of housing stock can promote the investment of the cities. Particularly, if there are few policies are implemented in the building process, then it will be more convenient for the property developers to employ appropriate speculation on increasing estate construction with cost-effective designs. As a result, with more available housing, there will be fewer people leaving on the streets. From the economical perspective, without harsh controls of high-rise buildings, corporations can be provided with more accessible space for the construction of their offices, which potentially contributes to the increment of available employment for urban dwellers, ultimately leading to the enhancement of the whole economy.

On the other hand, it is also noteworthy that numerous detrimental consequences can result from this phenomenon. Firstly, with the increasing uncontrolled construction planning, urban sprawl will be encouraged, which is considered an undesirable feature of modern cities. For instance, in many developing cities, sprawling suburbs have sprung up alongside the presence of several slum areas and sink estates. Consequently, many areas of these cities have become an eyesore due to the incompatibility between the existing constructions. Secondly, the excessive increment in the towering skyscrapers has also overshadowed most of the prestigious buildings, especially museums or traditional houses, which reflect the typical aesthetic quality of the cities.

In conclusion, I believe that unplanned buildings have resulted in the undesirable growth of cities with ugliness and chaos. Thus, the benefits stemming from this problem are greatly outweighed by its disadvantages.