Task 2

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic:

Information technology enables many people to do their work outside their workplace (e.g. at home, when travelling, etc.).

Do the benefits of this mobility outweigh the disadvantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

As the world is changing day by day, information technology really changes how people do their work from inside a workplace like an office or a school to literally everywhere that has an internet connection. Although its still require you to have a computer or a phone, you can still doing your jobs while going out with your friends or at a coffee shop with more freedom and change of work places.

On one hand, working too much from a computer or a phone may cause you some eye problems such as near-sightedness or dry eyes. Looking too long on a blue screen makes your eyes really work and may cause Computer Vision Syndrome, a common syndrome in office staff or people who work with computers a lot. Also, sitting in front of a computer for too long might cause diseases related to not working enough like hemorrhoids,etc...

However, working with a computer may cause some health problems. It also has a lot of advantages. The first advantage has to be the convenience, you can carry your work anywhere, you don't even have to be in the same country but can still work from far away. For instance, in the covid lock down, we can still work or study from home without having to go out and face the risk of getting infected.

In conclusion, although using gadgets may cause you some health problems, as long as you can control it and not look at the screen for too long, information technology really gives humans the ability to work from wherever they are. I believe that it definitely outweighs the drawbacks of problems with health.