In this technological era, personal information is held on computers by many companies and organisations. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

The pracice of storing private information of users on companies' servers is a major topic of concern these days. Although there are more benefits to consider for both the customers and the companies, the drawbacks in terms of date privacy seem greater.

The act of creating and maintaining a database of the personal information of users is beneficial in a few aspects. Utilising machine learning and big data technologies, a company may understand their customers better. This means that companies may provide better services or make products that exactly suit customer needs. In addition to this, it would be more convenient for users when they continue to use the product or service of that company. Those who use electronice wallets, for example, may get their online transactions done in a matter of seconds if their identity and biometric data are already on the system.

Despite these advantages, when the personal data of a user is kept on the database of their product or service provider, they may have to deal with more significant disadvantages. The first is that companies may sell this data to advertising agencies, who will then use it to bombard the user with a huge number of advertisements on all digital media platforms and social networks, be it a news website or even Facebook. The result of this is often that the user is annoyed constantly when they use the Internet. From an information security perspective, this practice is even more problematic as there is a risk that sensitive data of the user is compromised. In this scenario, hackers may use the data they steal to blackmail the user or illegally withdraw money from the user's bank accounts.

In summary, storing private data of users on the system of a company is a common practice that not only creates convenience for the users and helps the company improve customer experience. The advantages, however, are dwarfed by substantial disadvantages, including personal data security breach and the annoyance from advertisements the user has to experiecne when they are online.