In this technological era, personal information is held on computers by many companies and organizations. What are the advantages and disadvantages?

With the development of technology, individual information is held by many companies and organizations on computers. From my perspective, there are vital demerits that far outweigh its merits.

On one hand, the act of ​creating and maintaining a database of the personal information of users is associated with some advantages. Firstly, enterprises may offer better services or produce products that meet the exact needs of consumers. When they know their customers' insights well, their products possess what their target customers want. It is a win-win for both companies and customers, the businesses can sell a greater amount of their goods while customers find the solutions for their needs. Besides, businesses could sell this information to advertising agencies, therefore they could push numerous advertisements on all digital platforms and social media.

On the other hand, when personal information of users is kept on the database of their product or service provider, it can also lead to some demerits. For example, consumers constantly feel annoyed when surfing the Internet. Whatever they randomly mentioned may occur instantly everywhere, in any application such as youtube, google or Instagram, which may cause awful experiences using those. In addition, as regards information security, it is a problem when sensitive contents of the users are compromised​ due to the act of ​creating and maintaining a database of personal information. Frauds may use this data to threaten people to give them money or take their money from their bank account illegally. In other words, this action is aiding crimes to expand and needs to stop.

In conclusion, despite some benefits to consider for both the customers and the companies, the drawbacks in terms of ​data privacy​ are far weightier.