Television cannot replace the book as a learning tool, which is why children are less well educated today. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Whilst the staggering development in technology has provided various solutions to problems that were devastating in the past, one consequence that had a negative effect was the increasing migration from written materials towards mainstream media.

Textbooks for studying a subject in a field, fiction for entertainment, magazines for free time, this was the norm not long time ago. Bookstores were numerous and had plenty of customers, shelves full of books relating to different subjects were the staple in houses. Conversely, in present times, one can just find academic individuals wandering among the shelves of libraries while the majority of the public are either watching frivolous shows that span over unending number of episodes, whose producers cared about the graphics more than they had bothered with the complexity of the language or discussing the latest music album, the songs of which often contain more shouting or understandable words than any that can be considered creative.

It is argued that for all the previous reasons, not only are modern generations less literate, possessing a narrower selection of vocabulary and often incapable of speaking articulately, but also uninterested in learning, thus less knowledgeable of science. Additionally the young nowadays tend to pursue careers, such as singing and acting, that, except for a little percentage of those taking the path, don’t lead to the future they had imagined, which is fame and richness.

All in all, television, films, shows, festivals… etc will never be able to replace the role of books, therefore, efforts should be made to restore the interest in reading among new generations. Additionally, educational institutions have to implement new ways to attract their students towards bookstores and libraries, especially primary schools where children can be taught to love written stories from a young age. Taking this path, it might become a reality in the future to see the youth racing to get book the has been recently released.